Marcus Foster To Compete in 3-Point Contest in San Antonio Next Week

Marcus Foster

OMAHA, Neb. – Creighton’s Marcus Foster has been selected to the 3-Point Championship roster for the 30th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at Bill Greehey Arena at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio on Thursday, March 29, Intersport announced today. Foster is one of eight men’s college basketball players selected for the event that will air live on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. CT. He was invited to take part in the 3-Point Championship after being recognized as one of the nation’s finest shooters from three-point territory.

A senior from Wichita Falls, Texas, Foster became the first player in program history to earn First Team All-BIG EAST honors twice. He led Creighton with 19.8 points per game while also adding 3.9 rebounds and 2.7 assists per game. Foster ranks 47th in the nation this year in both three-pointers per game (2.88) and three-point percentage (.413), as well as 45th in three-pointers made (95). He scored 10 or more points in 31-of-33 games this season and in just two seasons finished 21st in school history with 1,292 points as a Bluejay. Among active Division I players, Foster ranks 10th nationally with 306 career three-pointers.

Foster also joined Bob Portman and Doug McDermott as the only Bluejays to ever post multiple seasons of 600 or more points. Foster was named a Midseason All-American by Sporting News and remains one of five finalists for the Jerry West Award, given to the nation’s best shooting guard.

Intersport, producers of the event, invites 24 of the nation’s elite men’s and women’s college basketball players to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships (eight dunkers, along with eight men’s and eight women’s shooters). The program showcases the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of the nation’s top college basketball players during the Great Clips Men’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Marine’s Women’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Samsung Battle of the Champions, the Dunkin’ Donuts Slam Dunk Championship and the Applebee’s Team Shootout.

A complete roster of participants will be released at a later date.

Over the last 29 years, several of the top players in college basketball have competed in the College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships including: Gary Payton, Steve Nash, Jason Terry, Kyle Korver, Bobby Hurley, Michael Finley, Damon Stoudamire, Allan Houston, Denzel Valentine, Yogi Ferrell, Wes Matthews, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Gearlds, and Kristi Toliver.

Foster will be the fourth Creighton player in the last 16 years to take part in the men’s three-point contest. Kyle Korver finished second in the 2003 competition to Butler guard Darnell Archey, while Booker Woodfox did not advance to the semifinals in the 2009 competition won by Miami’s Jack McClinton. Ethan Wragge was CU’s most recent participant, taking fifth place in the 2014 competition won by Baylor’s Brady Heslip. Notably, Creighton Hall of Famer Kathy Halligan won the 1992 women’s three-point contest.

Tickets for the 2018 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships are on sale now and can be purchased at General admission tickets are $15. For special group rates, please call 312-467-2826. Bill Greehey Arena is located at 1 Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228.

For more information on the 2018 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, visit, follow us on Twitter (@CollegeSLAM) and like us on Facebook.

About Intersport
Since 1985, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports, lifestyle and entertainment-based marketing platforms. With expertise in Sponsorship Consulting, Experiential Marketing, Hospitality, Customer Engagement, Content Marketing, Productions and Sports Properties, this Chicago-based Marketing & Media Solutions Company helps their clients to create ideas, content and experiences that attract and engage passionate audiences. To learn more about Intersport, visit, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter (@IntersportBuzz).

Source Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *